image image image image image
Online Code Book Downloadable Code Book Code Repository SCDB Web 101
Online Code Book

Manner in which the Court takes Jurisdiction
Variable Name
Spaeth Name
14 [ view ]

The Court uses a variety of means whereby it undertakes to consider cases that it has been petitioned to review. These are listed below. The most important ones are the writ of certiorari, the writ of appeal, and for legacy cases the writ of error, appeal, and certification.

A few notes are in order. First, there are handful of cases that fall into more than one category. Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803), for example, was an original jurisdiction and a mandamus case. We code these cases on the basis of the writ. So Marbury is a coded as mandamus, not original jurisdiction.

Second, some legacy cases are "original" motions or requests for the Court to take jurisdiction but were heard or filed in another court. See, for example, Ex parte Matthew Addy S.S. & Commerce Corp., 256 U.S. 417 (1921), asking the Court to issue a writ of mandamus to a federal judge. Again, we do not code these as "original" jurisdiction cases but rather on the basis of the writ.
1 cert
2 appeal
3 bail
4 certification
5 docketing fee
6 rehearing or restored to calendar for reargument
7 injunction
8 mandamus
9 original
10 prohibition
12 stay
13 writ of error
14 writ of habeas corpus
15 unspecified, other
Identification Variables
Background Variables
Chronological Variables
Substantive Variables
Outcome Variables
Voting & Opinion Variables

Online Code Book Downloadable Code Book Code Repository SCDB Web 101
image The Supreme Court Database has been generously supported by the National Science Foundation. Creative Commons License